Week 6: Project Pitch – The Multi-Sensory Experience.

My idea for a final project for this subject would be to engage the viewer in a multi-sensory experience. During class we were given the chance to mind-map our fields of practice and our interests, and brainstorm ideas that would align with those. My mind map was… messy – however it greatly clarified the type of project I would like to undertake in the future for this subject.

The other students were then able to add their own feedback and ideas – however having overheard other students struggling to work out where exactly I was going with my thoughts (I thought I’d made it clear, though perhaps it was only clear to me!) I decided to come home and make the thought process a little clearer. From our mind-maps we were told to pitch an MVP (minimal viable project IIRC) – however I believe I would be able to turn this into a full-fledged final project.

I started by centering my initial concept – The immersive digital space. Around this, I placed my 4 key interests and practices: Photography, Digital Media, 3D work, and Sensory Experience. I was then able to link these keywords and create new ones by highlighting their commonalities, in which I was able to come up with concepts for works that I could create. From that I managed to combine several points of interest to create one MVP.

I recreated the mind-map at home to make it a little bit clearer:

17903402_1843102752382255_262180081042584598_n
Pink indicates the core concepts and keywords linked directly to those concepts; yellow are ideas created by linking these keywords and concepts together.

The MVP pitch ended up sounding like this:
“To create a 360 degree photographic space viewed through a Virtual-Reality headset, accompanied with a soundscape with headphones”.

I realised upon creating this MVP that I wanted to expand upon this concept entirely and create an entire immersive and 3-dimensional space using sound, image, smells and textures.

There are a couple of artworks I could reference from various gallery visits, but I am particularly drawn to those from the 2012 Biennale in Sydney, entitled All Our Relations; and from the 2014 Biennale, entitled You Imagine What You Desire.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looking at all the above images of installations that I have previously experienced reminds me of the experiences I had when viewing them and interacting with them – all very clear memories. This is the kind of response I hope to have with my own work.

As stated previously, I want to expand on my own MVP – to include an entire room and incorporate smells, as well as have projections in 360 degrees of images of places with a soundscape in the room, perhaps with objects that can be interacted with.

I have still yet to decide on exactly the subject matter – however having experimented with soundscapes and panoramic photography in the past, I have a few ideas on how to go about it. I feel like this project would be best achieved in a group – however I am not above doing it myself if need be.

One thought on “Week 6: Project Pitch – The Multi-Sensory Experience.

  1. Hi Chloe… lots of good ideas and thought here – but you really need to ground these ideas in more detailed and concrete research. The exercises from week two should be particularly helpful if pursued diligently – why create a multisensory experience – to what end? what is at stake? what forms of multi sensory experience are being created – do they have different intents/aims/aspirations? How do those difference manifest. How are specific forms of multi-sensory experience achieved? Are there works that works with smell (David Haines), projection/vision (Pippilotti Rist, Turrell), Touch (Erin Manning), Sound (Nigel Helyer, Ikeda). What academic theories and ideas does the notion of multisensory experience speak to … Baudrillard (Simulacrum), sense and perception (Varela, Noe), Digital Media Theory (Manovich, Cubbit). Its this kind of ‘opening onto the outside’ that will animate and energise your experimentation and ensure your work is non-trivial…

    Like

Leave a Reply

