Or, as I like to call it:

“Consistent and Effective Content Creation for the Time-and-Energy-Impaired”

A digital media artifact concept pitch created by a lazy person, for lazy people.

The concept around my digital artifact was borne from necessity – as most great inventions are. I want to create something useful and tangible: a guide for people like me, who are short on time, and constantly exhausted, to not have to sacrifice succeeding in small or solo business ventures when it comes to the world of digital marketing. For this to make a lot of sense, I feel like I need to fill you in on the background of who I am a little.

A Little bit about me.

I am a sole trader and have been for a few years. In 2013 I got my first dSLR and fell in love with photography. However maintaining the gear soon became very expensive. As more people took an interest in my work, I decided to kill two birds with one stone and turn my hobby into a small business. However – things have been very slow, and juggling with full time study, as well as an anxiety disorder, makes things quite challenging.

The Concept.

I have attended a few seminars on social media marketing, and have done quite a lot of research in order to boost my own online presence. However that hurdle of exhaustion, anxiety and being time-poor (and money-poor) has gotten in the way a lot. But I’m not the only one, and I want my artifact to help as a starting point or guide to people who are in a similar situation to me but want to succeed.

The Methodology.

I have planned to work this in four phases:

  1. Research – finding the right platforms and market for the individual’s needs.
  2. Identity – figuring out who you are as a business entity
  3. Content – appropriate content generation for your business and market
  4. Artifact – creation of my artifact itself – how to present the findings from the above.

I’m hoping to make a video in the same style as my video from a couple of weeks ago – the Medium is the Message Manifesto.

The Why.

That brings me to why I have chosen this particular topic for my digital artifact – aside from the prior of this having been beneficial to me. I believe that what I am trying to do can be greatly enhanced by the methodology of #FIST and the mantra of “The Medium is the Message”.

Keeping it fast, inexpensive, simple, and tiny is a great way to ensure that people don’t get intimidated by the artifact and overwhelmed by information – thus ensuring they don’t get completely turned off by the prospect of online social media marketing. The subject’s mantra of The Medium is the Message is entirely what the artifact is about, simply applied to the world of social media marketing – choosing the appropriate medium for your message so that they complement each other.

Hopefully this serves its purpose in giving some mind-fodder to those who need it and are looking into starting their own business ventures, without wanting to sacrifice their existing obligations.

Leave a Reply

