(Try to imagine this inaugural blog post with the tune of a gentle guitar campfire ditty in the background.)

This is a short tale about the introduction of this semester’s shower-thoughts… in blog-form.

I am notoriously terrible at writing blog posts;  well perhaps not so much notoriously (yet), but I do have trouble striking a balance of objectivity and subjectivity. Some of the blog posts to follow may be good, some may be terrible and lacking any kind of substance. Some may be ramblings of incoherent thoughts I may have had throughout the day clumsily lumped together as the words leave my fingertips.

HOWEVER!

This may yet work out in my favour, at least for this semester. For this shall be a journey of autoethnography; which as I understand it, makes it a good thing that if nothing else, my ramblings will be subjective. The perspective my own. Not having to trawl through heavy academic texts that study the early manifestos of a now irrelevant and defunct artistic movement of a century ago.

RAWSmallprints-171
An image taken 3 years ago, purely because it was a pretty setting; with barely an indication of the context of it’s surroundings. ” A E S T H E T I C S “

Now, I have very limited knowledge on Asian culture. That isn’t to say that what little I am exposed to I do not appreciate. I once tried origami in primary school for a good hour and have since forgotten the elaborate instructions. I have been to the friendship gardens in Sydney and taken some rather aesthetic pictures. I did very well in year 7 Japanese language studies, getting a perfect score in memorising the numbers and hiragana alphabet. Indulging in llaksa and watching Fairy Tail at the same time was probably my most ‘authentic’ experience of Asian culture despite the fact that it was a conglomeration of two very different cultures in the most inappropriate setting (bed).

10322798_872191339473406_6942424862595647444_n
In my defense, this was over 2 years ago. That makes it excusable, right? ‘Straya.

However, despite all that, I feel I have a slight unique advantage given to me. My lack of exposure to all of Asia’s subcultures means that I go into this auto-ethnographic study with a blank canvas (rather, an empty head). My experiences over the semester will replace my pre-written and rather misguided knowledge on such subjects and will give me an opportunity to take a deeper look into specific aspects of Asia in a digital context that were previously dictated in my mind by stereotypical points of view that I have picked up over my somewhat uncultured 25 years of life.

If you have managed to get to this point on my blog, you will have realised by now that I wasn’t lying when I said that I tend to ramble on. There’s nothing more to see here. It can, unfortunately, be a bit of a challenge to write a blog post about digital cybercultures in Asia when you have Tenacious D playing on repeat in your mind.

This is not the greatest blog post introduction in the world. This is just a tribute.

One thought on “This is just a tribute.

Leave a Reply

